josef

The 3 Foundations Of My Financial Portfolio

Discussion created by josef Employee on Apr 13, 2017

As a millennial, I tend to lack patience for certain things—like waiting for food at a restaurant. But for my financial portfolio, I recognize that patience is necessary. Building a financial portfolio is a commitment, not a task. It takes a tremendous amount of time.

As the saying goes, “Rome wasn’t built in a day.” The same goes for your financial portfolio. I’ve read and listened to a tremendous number of media outlets on how to build a portfolio. From all that, I’ve identified three key ingredients that I used to make my own: prepare for winter, look for growth, and be patient.

1. Prepare For Winter

I am not a weather expert, but no matter what part of the country I live in, I always know that winter is coming. I cannot control Mother Nature nor can I predict how harsh winter will be, but it will come—and I’ll need to be able to survive the storm. You should prepare your financial portfolio the same way. A good way to prepare is to put 50% of your portfolio in stocks and the rest divided between bonds, cash, and short-term investments.

When deciding what types of financial investments to partake in, make sure you have investments that can weather out the bad times. Investing your entire portfolio in stocks, for instance, can offer tremendous rewards. But when bad times come—and again, they will—will those stocks stay up in price?

2. Look For Growth

When I was driving around in downtown Chicago a few weeks ago, a well-known investor said on the radio, “Profits are the milk and honey of stocks.” That means they’re the great benefit of investing, and one of the key things to look for. If you invest in stocks, search for those with profits and those that offer dividends (i.e., money paid to shareholders). You want to check your portfolio at least once a year.