My Two Cents: Get Ahead of the Game!

Document created by anaro15 on May 31, 2016Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

I graduated. Congratulations are in order, am I right? Life is a breeze now: there is no more studying to worry about, there are no more due dates and no more roommates. You are going to find a job right away and life is going to be easier and breezier and you are going to be that fabulous adult that you always dreamed you would be.

Not so fast. Have you looked at your student debt? I am going to give you some friendly advice: if you are like most college graduates, when you log into your federal student loan portal you are in for an ugly surprise. Realizing that you owe thousands of dollars will be stunning and stressful. It will be overwhelming, but there will be help. You will establish a repayment plan and everything will be okay.

I have been out of college for about a year now. My senior year was kind of a blur: I can not even count how many jobs I applied to and how many phone interviews followed. What is even harder to keep track of is how many rejections I received from all of the companies I applied to. By the end of my senior year, I still did not have anything lined up. I had a degree in my hand and no career to apply it to. I felt so hopeless: I had paid thousands of dollars for an education that now seemed like a complete and utter waste.