What I Wish They'd Said

Document created by candyr on May 30, 2016Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

When I graduated from high school and entered college, my parents didn't give me any financial advice.  Given their financial acumen, I shouldn't have been surprised.  They lived paycheck-to-paycheck and some weeks saw us living without a utility or two until the next payday.  You can probably understand why I was so excited to "leave the nest" and start my life as an adult. 

Unfortunately, the lack of financial training I received at home soon tripped me up and I found myself with a mound of credit card debt that only seemed to grow larger.  At that point I sat down and took a long, hard look at my spending habits.  I discovered that I didn't understand my spending habits because I really didn't know exactly where I was spending my money.  I decided to try a tactic my weight-loss coach had taught me; for one month I recorded every penny I spent without trying to change my spending habits.  At the end of the month I sat down and analyzed where my money was going and was really surprised to see the results.  The first thing I learned was that I habitually pulled out a credit card to pay for everything.  When I went over a credit card statement and saw how much of my "minimum payment" was going to interest I realized that I was actually paying much more for the things I was buying on credit; those jeans I got on sale were no longer the deal I thought they were!