Sacrifices & Dedication

Document created by emily33 on May 30, 2016Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

As a first generation college student, I often felt lost and confused throughout the college application process. Researching and understanding financial aid packages was quite a process and I quickly learned that if I wanted to attend a university that guaranteed I graduated in four years, I had to make some sacrifices.

The first sacrifice- continue to live at home and commute to school everyday. Of course, this was not the ideal plan for an 18 year old that just graduated high school, but it was the only way that I could afford to go to a private university.  It was difficult to see all my friends move away for school and be on their own, but while they were complaining about the food included in their meal plan I was enjoying a home cooked meal after a long day of work and school. However, living at home also meant that I had a curfew and rules to follow, so I ended up sacrificing a lot of the "college experience" that everyone talks about.

Being a full time student and working almost full time was also not ideal or the easiest. But it allowed me to pay for school and not have to take any loans during my entire college career. I would work anywhere between 20-30 hours and make monthly payments towards my tuition. Then with the money that I had left over I would pay for gas since I was commuting a distance of about 60 miles everyday.