Make your financial snapshot!

Document created by audreys on May 28, 2016
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

I didn't start having money problems until I graduated from college. Money had always just come to me in one way or another, through big, timely gifts from family, scholarships or awards, and obviously loans. Besides which, I didn't really have expenses to speak of. Money was so little a concern that I didn't even really worry about landing a job or having a career, figuring things would just create themselves like they always had. So it wasn't until I graduated in 2007 that I really reckoned with the value of a dollar, what my money values are and why I have those set of values. The first step to getting to a place of financial health for me was definitely figuring out what were my money values and belief system. I looked to see if it made sense, and then if I needed to reform any beliefs that were getting in my way. There are some great books that can help you do to that, like entrepreneur Alexa von Tobel's Financially Fearless. Another great read for me was Beth Kobliner's Get a Financial Life: Personal Finance in Your Twenties and Thirties. Even though I know that time isn't money -- time is life! -- I'm much better off for knowing what my beliefs are that inform my habits and why they exist. That has helped me to take proactive steps to take a look at my situation and ask myself how I can improve it.