Money-saving Tips from a Recent Grad

Document created by mikaylam on May 25, 2016Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

As May comes to an end, it has been just about exactly a year since I graduated with my bachelor's.  For some background, I went to a relatively small, private institution.  I was fortunate enough to have my parents help me pay for room & board, tuition, etc. but was also on scholarship and always held a part-time job.  But for those four years, I had a lot of help.  Once I graduated, it was a whole new ballgame with working full-time, making more money but having a lot more bills, and trying to figure out my student loans.  Here are some habits and lessons, regrettably in piecemeal fashion, that I have learned the hard way.  Some of these are painfully obvious.

1.) Budget, budget, budget.  Get yourself organized.  I believe this is one of the most essential steps for your financial well-being.  If you don't even know how much cash on hand you have, how can you go about spending and saving?  I use Mint.com, a free web service where you link your bank accounts (don't worry, it's safe, I was wary too) and set up monthly budgets.  This website is a lifesaver!  I have direct deposit so I can see how much income I have.  I've set up budgets for everything (groceries, utilities, rent, home supplies, haircuts, everything!). I know exactly how much I spend on each category and when I go over on those budgets. It allows you to set up saving goals, you can link your credit card, student loan, and more.  I initially signed up because I saw it was an Intuit service (the same company that makes QuickBooks software).  Organization is key to knowing your limits and can bring awareness to some unruly spending habits (ahem, mine was shoes).