It pays to understand taxes and your financial situation

Document created by leannes on May 24, 2016Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

When you're a new college graduate beginning your graduate degree, it can be hard to feel in control of all of the changes you're experiencing. You might be in a new city, have a new apartment, or may have taken over bills and responsibilities you didn't have before. Although it can be tempting to pretend these new responsibilities don't exist, it can really pay to be in-the-know about your banking, savings, loans or other debts, and taxes.

My husband and I recently experienced this first-hand. After I graduated from my undergraduate university last May, we got married just three weeks later and then moved to Boston a few months later for my graduate school. Although he had been out of college for a while, it was our first time being responsible for ALL of the bills that came our way. Moving from a small city in the south to Boston was a big increase in cost-of-living. To top it all off, we had all of my undergraduate debt hanging over our heads and my graduate loans were already adding up. Our financial situation was getting overwhelming, and we needed to figure things out quickly.