If I Could Go Back in Time….a Mother’s Heart.

Document created by sarahjk on May 23, 2016
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

If I could go back in time and meet my 18-20 year-old self, I would have plenty of words of wisdom to offer. The most important financial advice I would give is to not take out school loans, or at least minimize them. You never know what life will bring to your future, and school loans can be very limiting.

When I graduated from high school, I was the first person in my family to go to college, including extended family. To be honest, although I was intelligent, I did not think I would be able to afford to go to college. An adult female friend took me to lunch one day and surprised me by pulling into a private college, walked me into the building, and helped me fill out the college and financial aid application. Next thing I knew, I was going to college! I received a few scholarships that the school offered, took out what school loans I was eligible for, and worked full-time to cover the rest and support myself. Back then there was minimal financial counseling, and they handed out school loans like candy. Seven and a half years later, I was married and graduated with a Master’s Degree in Physical Therapy. I was ready to conquer the world! I was so proud of my education, and no one could ever take it away from me. I quickly found a job expecting to earn a high salary, but was shocked. I learned that because of Medicare cuts, the starting salaries for physical therapists had decreased by about $25,000 over the course of two years. But that was okay, because I was eager to start my career, I was a professional after all, and ready to make a difference in people’s lives.