My Two Cents: 5 Tips for Paying Back Student Loans from a First Generation College Graduate

Document created by bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb on May 20, 2016Last modified by bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb on Dec 5, 2016
Version 6Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

student loan debt.jpgBy Bonnie Carleton

I graduated from college a year ago, and like most recent graduates, I hate knowing that I now have a cloud of student debt hovering over my head. Although I'm proud of my degree that I worked hard for and I was fortunate to get a job immediately in my field of work, it's hard to shake the feeling of dread knowing that I have a mountain of debt to repay.

As a first generation college student, I didn't have much in the way of guidance from my family when it came to wisdom and advice about paying back student loans. I started asking friends and colleagues for advice, and this is what they told me:

1. Start paying back loans early

As soon as I graduated, I began making payments on my student loans. I know people who started paying their loans even before they had finished school! There is generally a grace period between the time you graduate and when you are required to start making payments, but if you can afford to pay earlier- do it! Grace periods vary between types of loans, so make sure you know how much time you have before you have to start making payments.

2. Make payments larger than the minimum amount that is due

Paying more than the bare minimum that is due will help to cut down on the years of your life you spend paying off student debt. The faster you are able to pay off your loans, less interest will accrue. Your wallet may feel lighter in the meantime, but you will save yourself a lot of money in the long run by dodging the bullet of student loan interest.

3. Budget & prioritize your money