Car smarts

Document created by alexhall on May 18, 2016Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

I was unfortunately in a car accident last summer, a little over a year after i graduated from college. I had taken out a loan to purchase the car, that ended up being deemed a total loss by my insurance company after the crash. This is where my first piece of advice comes in: if you find yourself in this situation with your insurance company, you are entitled to challenge their initial report of the value of your car before it was totaled. My car had just been painted and barely went over the 100,000-mile mark before the accident and my insurance company was valuing the car at less than the KBB book value. I ended up getting the insurance company to come up to KBB value on the car, which allowed me to fully pay off my loan to my bank.