Determined not to Repeat Parents' Mistakes

Document created by mattm on Nov 17, 2015Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 5Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

My financial success story has its unusual roots in my childhood. Growing up, my father was often laid off from the mill, particularly during winters. During these tough times, to make ends meet, my parents began putting expenses on credit cards. There were several years of this, with interest accruing all the while, because the balances were only being paid down little by little. It took a few more years to vanquish the debt for good, and my parents swore off credit cards.

As I grew older I was reminded of the past throughout several different talks about finances and repeatedly cautioned against using credit cards. Shortly after I graduated college I realized that credit would need to be a part of my life due to eventually needing auto loans and a mortgage. Believing my willpower sufficient to use the credit card sparingly and not spend money I did not have, I applied and was approved. One small benefit to my student loans had been their affect on my credit report and score. By this time I had loans that were between 1 and 4 years old and a credit score of nearly 700 at such a young age.