The Death of a Beetle

Document created by desireeofsunshinee on Nov 14, 2015Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Click, click, click, click – vroom! That is the sound I would hear as I turned on my mom’s 2005 Chrysler Town and Country minivan. Yes, this was not the coolest ride around, but it got the job done. The car had a lot of problems with it; the gas pedal would stick, the transmission was going, it got bad gas mileage, it was rusted around the edges, and it would make this deep gurgle sound when you were driving.  I had been driving this car since I was 16, it was my first car, and it had seen better days. I wanted to drive a car that got more than eight to twelve miles per gallon and that I loved.

When I graduated high school, my mom told me that I needed to get a car before I went to college, and I just looked at her and said, “Mom, I already have one.” Of course my mother gave me a long explanation about how that car was not really “my car” so I did not really have a car. I thought she was just going to let me go either way, so I just did what I wanted all summer, and one of the things I did not do was save up for a car. When the time came to go to school, I did not attend and instead took a year off to save up for a car.