My Financial Burden

Document created by aliciah_2 on Nov 12, 2015
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

My name is Alicia and I am currently a student enrolled full time. After the graduation of high school I realized that I was not able to afford my college education. There was two major factors in my life: 1. My dads income was to high for aid. 2. I was not my dads problem financially, he fed me and assumed thats all he had the rights to do, but I was still bonded to him by law. There was little options and I wanted to remain on their health insurance so what was I to do? It was a hard time in my life, as I started working 3 jobs nearly 20 hours a day to support myself and save up. At the time I did not think of college or even attending, for me I thought of college for the privileged, and I convinced myself I did not have the privilege. However, I had no idea what I was talking about. I knew about community college, but I had no idea what a great resource it was. Although I still did not have nearly enough money, I had went to talk to somebody at a nearby college. I was able to get a loan from the federal student aid, no I didn't get free money but I was able to start my journey. One of my favorite things to do is shop, just like the average girl likes to do, but I had to stop so that I could afford my way through school. I work 2 jobs while being a full time student and I save over 1/2 of my paycheck. I don't eat out, or spend my money on fast food--if you shop at the grocery store you save so much money if you shop right. Textbooks are probably one of the most scariest parts of school for me. I found out about little boards that students advertise the books they are selling, it had truly saved me a ton of money! I also explained to my teachers my issues and some of them were nice enough to give me a Code for the class, which is a big relief, for those of you who know the expensive of access codes for some courses. Phew! I learned not to just ass