If You Want Something Expensive, Spend Less Money

Document created by rafim on Nov 11, 2015
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Back in high school, I used to work part time as a cashier.  I worked 2 or 3 days a week, and I made roughly 200-250 dollars every other week.  Since i was in high school, i was naive about spending my money.  I could not resist once I saw something that I really wanted, and would not hold back.  It always felt like I had so much money, until I realized that I only had 20 dollars and a whole week before the next check came in.  I kept trying to spend less, but it just did not work out.  After a while, I could not live with having spent all my money on stupid things, when I encounter something that would actually be helpful, and meaningful.  I decided to take half of my check and hide it somewhere.  I thought that only having 100-125 dollars a week would become problematic, and at first, well, it really was.  Sometimes I would even take some out of my hiding spot in my room so I could spend it.  Eventually, I got into the routine of saving it.  This went on for months, just saving and saving and more saving.  As the start of my first college semester was quickly approaching, I assumed that I would have a lot more work, and less time to get it done.  I took my last check, and then I quit my job.  After this I went home to get all my supplies and everything that I would need to start the semester.  I invited my girlfriend over, and she, being older than me, had already had her first year in college, and she made it to the end of it.  I really needed advice as to what i should do to prepare myself mentally.  Apparently, having a clean room to come home to on the weekends was the first thing to do.  We moved everything around, and during this massive cleaning of my room, the Manila envelope that I kept all my savings in got placed somewhere.  I did not realize this until much later, it seems weird that one would completely forg