Indebted over 147 thousand dollars to debt freedom in 4 years

Document created by kevind on Nov 10, 2015Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 6Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

I firmly believe in the power of education to unlock opportunities in life. I graduated from my bachelors program with honors, and then completed a masters program. I am currently finishing my final pre-req for an associates degree in nursing. Because of poor financial habits however, my total debts amounted to over $147,000 (give or take a few dollars and cents).  My debt mountain amounted to approximately $70k of my own student loans, $35k my wife's student loans, $8k wifes car, and the rest was various credit card debt (multiple visa cards, best buy, etc). We made good money between the two of us, but so much of our monthly wages were going to debt we were in a sinking ship laden with holes.  We were sinking, but just didn't know it until we stopped to examine the damage we had caused.

That just goes to show you that you can be book smart and money dumb, as I was. I did not learn sound money skills from my parents (my parents made over $400,000 last year and are paying off a $100,000 + IRS tax bill). That was my financial education unfortunately, and I compounded it with years of impulsive and reckless spending. That was before I got serious.