My Wildcat Experience

Document created by fernanda on Nov 9, 2015Last modified by fernanda on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

At the age of ten, my family and I migrated to the United States. Despite the language and social obstacles that I faced in moving to Tucson, AZ, I remained focused on my academics and the University of Arizona has been the gateway to my academic success. I have come far from the Spanish monolingual ten year-old, however, two personal characteristics that define who I am today have not changed- my work ethic and my perseverance. My parents were not financially stable to support my college education, so as a senior in high school and even as a college student, I applied to many scholarships. Throughout my college career, I applied to around 68 scholarships and it consisted of writing different personal statements, and asking professors/faculty for letters of recommendation. Although it was tough to focus on my academics and apply to scholarships at the same time, I knew that this challenge would benefit me in the future. As a result, my undergraduate college experience has been possible due to the financial support of the University of Arizona Hispanic Alumni Scholarship, among ten other scholarships I received. I am blessed to have had this tremendous support and I will graduate this upcoming May debt-free, which is not the case for many college students. However, college is what you make of it, and my college experience has been extremely fulfilling, more than I have ever imagined due to perseverance, dedication, and hard work.