The Power of Positive Thinking

Document created by emilyo on Nov 4, 2015Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

When I graduated high school, I knew that I was bound for a technical college and an Associate's degree. I knew that a four year school wasn't for me. Since the day I could drive, I was a work-aholic. I held two jobs for most of my junior and senior years of high school. I started working towards an Associate's degree in Paralegal. I was well organized and had spent the last year working in a call center, so I knew what it meant to be at a desk for nearly ten hours a day. I quickly learned that finishing college was going to take more than jumping through the hoops; you had to be passionate about what you were studying. After moving three times and transferring twice, I finally admitted that I couldn't see myself being a paralegal and that I needed to find a way to channel my passion into a career. By this time, I was 22 and had spent the last two years working as a full time personal trainer. I had found what I truly loved to do. When I was offered the position as a gym manager, I jumped at it, and it just made sense to switch to studying business management. Throughout all of these transitions, I never once dropped out of school or let my studies suffer; I knew an education was important.