How does one work full-time while going to school full-time... The question of all college students.

Document created by davidj_1 on Nov 4, 2015Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

I am a third year college student in Wisconsin, I won't sugar coast this story to sound responsible/independent because I'm sure 99% of you can relate to my story. When I first got to college I had spending cash from working during the summer, and parents giving me some cash for the long terrifying freshmen year ahead of me. I quickly spent all my savings on beer, party favors, and clothes. I was only able to survive because I didn't have to pay rent since my parents covered the expenses for my dorm room, and they bought me a meal plan. I was taking 5-6 classes a semester(Drop one if things get hairy), and somehow managed a decent GPA to keep my parents happy. I am also a student with dyslexia and ADHD, so I take longer than other students to complete assignments, and study.

My life was flipped upside down once I moved off campus the beginning of this year. I had to buy my own groceries, pay rent, and anything I needed. I was actually own my own. I needed to make money somehow. I applied to many jobs, but only low paying jobs that wanted me to work insane hours would take me. Since I was in class at very inconvenient times during the week I was unable to find a way to pay off my own expenses. I will never make my education secondarily to a awful job where you work you're A$S off for 7.50-10 dollars an hour before taxs....