Small Business, Big Return

Document created by rae on Nov 3, 2015Last modified by amara.mastronardi@socialedgeconsulting.com on Dec 5, 2016
Version 6Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Okay, so I've never had money. Really really. My family has never had money, I got through my undergrad on scholarships, grants and loans, and got used to a budget of $20 a week. No kidding. $20 covered my gas, groceries and clothes and anything outside of the rent, utilities and phone bill. How did I do it? Well like lots of college folk, I went to thrift stores for fall sweaters, fancy shoes, I rode my bike whenever I could, ate lots of bean burritos and worked my *** off so that there wasn't time to spend money. I finished two degrees in pretty good shape, as long as I didn't dwell on my loan balance too much, and without credit card debt. I got through it! So why in the world did I enroll for grad school just a year later?

I loved school. I studied printmaking and cultural history, I proved to myself that I could do what I never thought possible when I graduated. A year later I was still working at a cafe and I realize what I really wanted to do with my life. I wanted to go back to school, not just as a student, but to teach, to relate over the things I had learned that were so important to me with others, and what better time to do it. I had taken a year off so I felt rested up, but also not too far out of the loop. Was it the right decision? Well there's only one way to find out.